dives

Hodge Close Quarry

26-Nov-2011

This image was taken by my buddy Trevor Rees, during a Worcester BSAC trip to Hodge Close Quarry in lakeland. An interesting dive- having bumped down a farm track, we had to carry our gear through a 200m tunnel with only about 5′ 4″ headroom (I managed not to knock myself out). This was followed by lowering the gear down a 3m cliff. The highlight of the day was a stroll down another short tunnel, which ends in a ledge. Sitting, fully-kitted on the edge, there was a “leap of faith” required to fling myself into the darkness, to land in a smallish, eerie pool. I had forgotten my hood, so this was a shore dive, under a sump to emerge in the large cave shown in Trevor’s picture.

Leave a Reply

